Inviting Nomination for Distinguished Alumnus 2017

We have been informed that this year’s Convocation at our Alma Mater will be held on March 4th, 2017.  It is customary for the Institute to give different awards at the Convocation.  As such, the Institute is seeking nominations for those awards now.

Please read this notice carefully and if you have any question about the role of GAABESU or about the process involved, kindly contact Partha Pratim Roy (Honorary Secretary, GAABESU) at moc.liamgnull@livic79ahtrap

In response to a request from Prof Ajoy K Ray, Director, IIEST Shibpur, we are pleased to distribute IIEST Shibpur Distinguished Alumnus Award process document and seek nominations for this award from our global alumni community. GAABESU office will collect all your confidential nominations and GAABESU Honorary Secretary will hand over the entire folder with all nominations to Prof Ajoy K Ray or committee appointed by him. The final award selection will be made by the committee chosen by the Director or his appointee.

Please send your nomination to our Global Alumni Office (Email: moc.liamgnull@usebaag; Phone # +91 33-2668-4564) marking the subject as Confidential: “Nomination for Distinguished Alumnus 2017”. 

In case you are sending the nomination using postal mail please use our office address:

GAABESU Office, J. N. Dasgupta Hall, Ground Floor, University Guest House,
Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur
(Erstwhile BESU / BECDU / B. E. College)
P.O. – Botanic Garden, Howrah, West Bengal, INDIA – 711 103

We sincerely regret the inconvenience for the short notice period. Please note that the nomination forms must be received by February 11th, 2017  (extended)  for consideration in this year’s convocation. 

GAABESU is not involved in the selection of any winners for Distinguished Alumnus Award. We at GAABESU are only informing the alumni/alumnae using our global alumni network about this award. This will allow larger number of alumni/alumnae to nominate more alums for the highest alumni award from our Alma Mater.

We are enclosing the revised nomination form and the list of recipients (Honoris Causa, Distinguished Teachers And Distinguished Alumnus) from 2005 to 2016.

Prof Ajoy K Ray, has also requested GAABESU to publicize Distinguished Faculty Award which the institute confers at the convocation also. If you would like to nominate any of your favorite teacher for this award, please write to us separately with the subject as Confidential: “Nomination for Distinguished Teacher Award 2017″.

We do not have any formal document that can be used for this nomination. So, please feel free to use your judgment and support the nomination as to how the Faculty shaped our lives and influenced generations of students with inspirations, mentoring and guidance. Submit your nominations for Distinguished Teacher Award by 11th February, 2017.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *