Director Prof. Ajoy Kumar Ray to receive Padma Shri Award 2017

IIESTS Director Prof. Ajoy Kumar Ray will be conferred the Padma Shri Award 2017, in the field of Science & Engineering.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year. In 2017, the President of India has approved conferment of Padma Awards to 89 persons as per the list in the given link. The list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 7 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri Awardees. 19 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 5 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and 6 Posthumous awardees.

Click here to read full article from Press Information Bureau, Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs

Click here to see picture of the Award Ceremony 

6 thoughts on “Director Prof. Ajoy Kumar Ray to receive Padma Shri Award 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *